Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

What I learnt after 6 years, working in the IT industry

Abhimanyu Chauhan
4 min readDec 13, 2021

--

In November of 2021, I completed 6 years in the IT industry. It was a weird journey, having its ups and downs. On multiple occasions I have been confused as to what I wanted from my career, as there are so many options like backend, frontend, dev-ops, full-stack and the list just goes on.

I started my career as a .net(C#) developer with Infosys, and being a naive fresher I thought C# was amazing and especially after using Visual Studio and the amazing IntelliSense it provides, I wanted to become a .net expert. Now after 6 years, all of my experience has been working with JS and building frontend apps in AngularJS(the OG one), Angular, React, and now will be transitioning to Vue.

This is me sharing some of the things I have learnt and feel are important to me and helped me grow, hope it might help you as well.

1: Play around with new technologies

You can only find the best flavour of candy, once you have tried most of them. Not a lot of people like to move out of their comfort zone, you just can’t say some technology is bad because others say it is, you have to try and get firsthand experience. Before landing to JS, I had worked on C#, Python, SQL, but it was when I used JS extensively with an AngularJS app, I realised how easy, fun yet complex JS is…

--

--

Abhimanyu Chauhan

JS Enthusiast, with a passion for travelling and writing.